Is my title paper or electronic?
Use Motor Vehicle Check to find out if your title is paper or electronic. Enter your title or vehicle ID number (you can find them on your registration receipt).
Look below Net Weight, the next line will show either paper or electronic title.
If there is no lienholder and your title is a paper title and you can't find it, you can get a duplicate. If there is no lienholder and your title is electronic, you can order a copy to be printed at our website GoRenew for $2.50. You will pay with a debit or credit card and should receive your title in 7 to 15 business days. New titles and those held by lienholders remain recorded by the department in an electronic format until an owner chooses to create a paper title. The 2009 Legislature authorized a new $2.50 service/mailing fee to be charged to convert the title to paper. This fee covers the department's costs for printing and mailing each title.
If you need your title sooner, you can also visit your local tax collector's office. Many offices can provide you the paper title during your visit for a $10.00 fast title fee. You can find your local tax collector by choosing the county here.
The advantage to leaving the title electronic is that you won't lose it and have to pay for a duplicate title, and it protects you from theft. If you lose the printed title, it costs $75. 25 to purchase a duplicate at the local tax collector's office.
Paper titles are usually only needed when the owner is selling the vehicle or otherwise transferring title to the vehicle. If you sell or trade the vehicle to a Florida motor vehicle dealer, you may be able to do so without converting the title to paper because the dealership can access the title remotely and process it to a new owner. If you sell it to an individual, you and the individual can go to the local tax collector's office in Florida to process the transaction.
*Effective 8/19/2015 a $2.00 convenience fee will be charged when using gorenew. The $2.00 convenience fee will be charged per order (or shopping cart) NOT per transaction. For example, if you are renewing a driver license and a registration, you will be charged one $2.00 convenience fee for the entire order. This fee is non-refundable.*