How do I renew my registration/license plate (decal)?
Registrations can be renewed by mail, in person, or online. It's your responsibility to make sure you renew on time. It's not mandatory that you are mailed a registration renewal notice ahead of time. You can renew up to 3 months before your expiration date. You can choose to renew for one or two years.
Online Renewal - Individual
You can renew on line at GoRenew.com . If you decide to renew online, then you can pay with credit, debit or checking account information. You should receive the decal within 7 to 10 days.
Online Renewal - Business
License plate registrations issued in the name of a business may be renewed online. A license plate issued in the name of a leasing company or business must have a Federal Employers Identification Number (FEIN) to renew online. FEINs are issued by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service.
Unable to renew online
If you have tried to renew online and are not able to do so, it could be because we don't have current insurance coverage on file for you in our database,or if the plate is issued in the name of a business there is no FEIN listed on the license plate record, or if the plate is issued in the name of an individual there is no Florida driver license or social security number listed on the registration record. If you are unable to renew on-line, then you are required to go in person or mail in your registration renewal and provide proof of insurance. Click here to find office locations.
Mail in Renewal
If you decide to renew by mail, you will mail the renewal fee and proof of insurance to the registered owner's local county tax collector. Your check or money order will be made payable to the tax collector for that county. Please allow 25 days to receive your registration/decal in the mail. If you do not receive it, you must contact the Tax Collector's office for a replacement.
In Person Renewal
If you decide to renew in person, then either you or someone else can go to an office and renew your registration for you. However, the individual renewing your license plate must provide proof of insurance, a copy of your current registration or a renewal notice, and the proper fees. Some registrants are required to meet specific criteria when applying for an original license plate and registration. They are then required to prove they still meet those criteria every year upon renewal. Examples: disabled veterans, non-resident military, forestry, agricultural or horticultural, and X-series license plates.
Adding or Removing a name
Adding or removing a name to a registration must be done in person at an office.
If you did receive your renewal card in the mail, the exact renewal fee will be listed. If not, then you can click here to see a fee chart and also a link to see the estimated renewal fee. Fees are based on the weight of the vehicle and the type of license plate being renewed.
The delinquent fee is imposed on any applicant who fails to renew a registration before the end of the month in which the renewal registration is due. The delinquent fee is applied beginning on the 11th calendar day of the month following the renewal period.
The exact expiration date is shown on the current registration certificate; therefore, the registered owner should be well aware of when their registration expires.
No Delinquent Fee for Military Members
Per Florida Statute 320.07(5), active duty military members whose registration has expired while serving on active duty 35 miles or more from their home of record do not have to pay a delinquent fee. The member must present either proof of the official military orders or written verification signed by their commanding officer. The renewal must be done in person or by mail.
Your local tax collector is your best source for questions about title and registration, find their contact information here.
*Effective 8/19/2015 a $2.00 convenience fee will be charged when using gorenew. The $2.00 convenience fee will be charged per order (or shopping cart) NOT per transaction. For example, if you are renewing a driver license and a registration, you will be charged one $2.00 convenience fee for the entire order. This fee is non-refundable.*