What is the law on texting and driving in Florida?
The “Florida Ban on Texting While Driving Law” authorizes law enforcement officers to stop motor vehicles and issue citations as a secondary offense, drivers must be stopped for a separate alleged traffic violation before being ticketed for texting while driving.
What is the fine for texting and driving?
The first violation is $30.00, the second violation is $60.00 and will add 3 points to your driving record, accumulation of points can result in the suspension of your driver license, see point suspension.
Can I text in my car while it is parked or if I am at a red light or stuck in traffic?
What is the law regarding CDL drivers using handheld communication devices while driving?
Effective July 1, 2013 Florida Statute 316.3025(6) prohibits a driver that is operating a commercial motor vehicle from texting or using a handheld mobile telephone. Both the driver and company may be assessed a civil penalty for these violations. FS 316.3025(6) only applies to drivers that are operating a commercial motor vehicle,not that the driver is a commercial driver license holder.